Category Uncategorized

KWW 2018: Official Schedule

9:00am — Check-in and Coffee (in ATM MPR 3) 9:30am — Welcome and Introduction of Teachers 10:00-11:30 — First Workshop Sessions (choose one): Fiction with Donald Carreira Ching (ATM MPR 3) Donald Carreira Ching was born and raised in Kahalu‘u. His short stories have appeared in numerous publications and anthologies locally and elsewhere, including BAMBOO RIDGE, […]

Brenda Kwon will teach poetry at KWW 2018

Born and raised in Hawaiʻi, Kwon received her BA from University of Southern California in English and creative writing, and her PhD from University of California, Los Angeles in American literature. She is the author of Beyond Keʻeaumoku: Koreans, Nationalism and Local Culture in Hawaiʻi; co-editor of YOBO: Korean American Writing in Hawaiʻi and The Sum of Breathing, which […]

Christy Passion will teach poetry at KWW 2017

Christy Passion is a critical care nurse and poet whose works have appeared in local, mainland, and international journals and anthologies, including Crab Creek Review, Haight Ashbury Literary Journal, Blue Collar Review, and Mauri Ola. She received the James A. Vaughn Award for Poetry, the Atlanta Review International Merit Award, and the Academy of American […]

Stuart Holmes Coleman will give keynote address at KWW 2017!

Stuart Holmes Coleman is a writer, speaker and environmental organizer.  Coleman is the award-winning author of Eddie Would Go, Fierce Heart, and more than 60 published articles on environmental and ocean-related issues. His newest book is called Eddie Aikau: Hawaiian Hero (Bess Press, 2016).  Along with the Eliot Cades Award for Literature, he has won writing fellowships […]

KWW 2016: Official Schedule

9:00am — Check-in and Coffee (on the lanai) 9:30am — Welcome and Reading of James Vaughn Award-Winning Poem. (lanai) 10:00-11:30 — First Workshop Sessions (choose one): Fiction with Lisa Linn Kanae (in AC 101) Born and raised on O`ahu, Lisa Linn Kanae is the author of Sista Tongue and Islands Linked by Ocean. Kanae’s prose […]